Monday, December 26, 2022

Year of Sanderson: What Should You Read?

2023 is going to be known as the year of Sanderson. For those that are fans of Brandon Sanderson already know why, but for those who haven’t heard during Covid Brandon Sanderson stressed wrote 5 new full-length novels, 4 of them will be released in 2023, while the 5th one will become a graphic novel that will be released in the future. The following link is the original video of him talking about this.

Brandon Sanderson setup a Kickstarter for anyone that wanted to purchase these “Secret Projects” in 2023. By the end of the Kickstarter with over 185,000 backers, he raised over 41 million dollar it became the most successful Kickstarter to date (the second highest was pebble technology which had over 78,000 backers raised over 20 million dollars). These four novels would be spaced evenly throughout the year giving us the time to digest them. For how much he is releasing next year 2023 will be known as the year of Sanderson. Do not worry though if you think 4 books isn’t enough to proclaim 2023 being the year of Sanderson, he will be publishing the last book in his YA Skyward series, Defiant as well.

Since 2023 will be the year of Sanderson I believe we should read more than five books. I think we should read as much as we can of Sanderson's work. In this post I will go over what books I think we should read in 2023. The most priority will be mentioned first and will descend in order on what should be read.

Artist: Michael Whelan

The Cosmere (On going):

This is the most popular well-known series Brandon Sanderson has written. The Cosmere is a fantasy series that takes place in one universe with multiple series/standalones taking place in it, each story takes place in a world in this universe (Cosmere). Even though the main story in each book, so far, does not affect another world it does not mean that it will stay that way. There are characters that show up from different stories (Different planets). The most popular world hopper is Hoid. He can be seen in every series, sometimes having a different name. Out of all the secret project books 3 of them will take place in the Cosmere and two of them are a stories told by Hoid, while the last has Hoid play an important role in it. 

Artist:  queenofeagles

These books are all the books in the Cosmere of how I believe the series should be read. You can read them in any order you want to, this is my suggestion.

Artist: meoni_ka

  1. Elantris
  2. Mistborn Era 1 Trilogy:
    1. The Final Empire
    2. The Well of Ascension
    3. The Hero of Ages
  3. Whitesand (Graphic Novel):
    1. Volume 1
    2. Volume 2
    3. Volume 3
  4. Warbreaker
  5. Stormlight Archives Series:
    1. The Way of Kings
    2. Words of Radiance
      1. Edgedancer (Stormlight Novella)
    3. Oathbringer
      1. Dawnshard (Stormlight Novella)
    4. Rhythm of War
  6. Arcanum Unbound
  7. Mistborn Era 2:
    1. The Alloy of Law
    2. Shadows of Self
    3. The Bands of Mourning
    4. The Lost Metal
Artist: Katie Payne
(Best Character)

Skyward Series (On going):

Artist: Sam Green

With the last book of this Spensa’s story is being released in 2023, it is appropriate to read Brandon Sanderson YA Sci-Fi series. I don’t want to spoil this series, but it’s a space battle series that focuses on a young girl named Spensa who discovers she is special compared to most people who fight with her for survival.

  1. Skyward
  2. Starsight
    1. Sunreach (Novella)
    2. ReDawn (Novella)
    3. Evershore (Novella)
  3. Cytonic
  4. Defiant

Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians (Finished Work):

 Artist: Marina Vidal

This series is a fun series about how Librarians brain wash the true nature of the world and Alcatraz and the citizens from free kingdoms fight against the librarians and everything the librarians believe in, like order. It’s a fun series that are great for young readers.

  1. Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians
  2. Alcatraz vs. the Scrivener’s Bones
  3. Alcatraz vs. the Knights of Crystallia
  4. Alcatraz vs. the Shattered Lens
  5. The Dark Talent
  6. Bastille vs. the Evil Librarians

The rest of these books I have not read yet, but I am planning on reading them next year.

The Reckoners (On going):

When people obtain superpowers, they are first thought to be heroes but turn out to be more villainous. It requires ordinary humans to assassinate them. This is a YA version of The Boys.

  1. Steelheart
    1. Mitosis
  2. Firefight
  3. Calamity
  4. Lux

Legion(On going):

Artist: Jon Foster

Stephen Leeds (Legion) has unique mental abilities that generates multitude personae. Who investigates mysteries. Fun fact Brandon Sanderson wrote the first story on the flight home from France in 2011.

  1. Legion
  2. Legion: Skin Deep
  3. Legion: Lies of the Beholder
  4. Death and Faxes

Infinity Blade:

artist: breath-art

I believe this is finished work, but these two books are based on the bestselling video game Infinity Blade. This story follows Siris who fights against Titans to face the evil God King in a one-on-one combat. If you are fans of the game then I would expect you to enjoy these two books.

  1. Awakening
  2. Redemption

Standalones so far:

  1. Dark one: is a graphic novel that I read that explores when a person gains power will he/she use it to be a savior or a destroyer. There should be more coming in the series in the future, sometime.
  2. The Apocalypse Guard: Like the reckoners, where people obtain superpowers, but it does not take place in the same world.
  3. The Rithmatist: A book that I believe will take a long time before he continues it. Brandon Sanderson wrote this book and forgot that he teased a second book. A rithmatist have power to infuse life into two-dimensional figures known as chalkings. Rithmatists are the only ones that can fight against wild Chalkings.

The Wheel of Time (Finished Work):

 Artist: Darrell K. Sweet

There is an honorable mention I should mention here. Brandon Sanderson finished the last 3 books for Robert Jordan epic series The Wheel of Time. I have read this 15-book series and Brandon Sanderson is the 2nd best person to finish this series, the 1st being Robert Jordan. The series focuses on a group of farmers who obtain unique abilities to fight against the Dark One. One of the boys is the Dragon reborn, a man that can wield the one power destine to break the world to defeat the dark one. However, men that use the one power are tainted and become insane. Therefore, men that can channel the one power are killed. How could this farmer fight against the Dark One and survive against women channelers trying to kill him? Read and find out. 

  1. New Spring (prequel book)
  2. The Eye of the World
  3. The Great Hunt
  4. The Dragon Reborn
  5. The Shadow Rising
  6. The Fires of Heaven
  7. Lord of Chaos
  8. A Crown of Swords
  9. The Path of Daggers
  10. Winter’s Heart
  11. Crossroads of Twilight
  12. Knife of Dreams
  13. The Gathering Storm (Written by Brandon Sanderson)
  14. Towers of Midnight (Written by Brandon Sanderson)
  15. A Memory of Light (Written by Brandon Sanderson 
All of Brandon Sanderson work can be found here:

No comments:

Post a Comment